Jangus Whitner Receives Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award and UNDER 40 Recognition

April 4, 2022
Jangus Whitner Receives Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award and UNDER 40 Recognition

COLUMBUS, OHIO – The Ohio Pharmacists Association (OPA) announced that Jangus Whitner, PharmD, MHA of Columbus, Ohio, is the 2022 recipient of the Distinguished Young Pharmacist, which recognizes a pharmacist who has graduated in the last 10 years and made significant contributions to the profession of pharmacy. The award is sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company. In addition, Whitner was recognized with an UNDER 40 Recognition Award for leadership, excellence, and vision in the practice of pharmacy. These awards were presented at the OPA 144th Annual Conference held April 1-3.

Whitner earned a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from The University of Toledo College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, and a Master’s degree in Healthcare Administration from Franklin University. He serves as the Director of Pharmacy Services and a Board-Certified Ambulatory Care Pharmacist at PrimaryOne Health, as well as an Apexus Certified 340B Expert. He is viewed as one of the foremost 340B experts in the country, speaking on the topic at both state and federal meetings. He fights for his patients and has a passion for the underserved patient populations in Ohio.

“While many young pharmacists have made significant contributions to their communities and to public health as a whole, Jangus Whitner’s commitment to the profession goes well beyond his work responsibilities. He is innovative, knowledgeable, dedicated, passionate and a caring health professional for his patients,” said Ernest Boyd, OPA Executive Director.

OPA, established in 1879, represents more than 4,000 pharmacists, pharmacy educators, and pharmacy students throughout the state. It is OPA’s mission to unite the profession of pharmacy and encourage interprofessional relations, while promoting public health through education, discussion, and legislation.

CONTACT: Ernest Boyd, Pharmacist, CAE
OPA Executive Director

(614) 389-3236