2022 Healthcare Justice Awards

November 10, 2022 from 6pm to 9pm
COSI (Center of Science and Industry)
333 West Broad Street, Columbus OH 43215

History of Healthcare Justice Awards

PrimaryOne Health annually recognizes an individual or a partner organization/agency who embodies the traits of an advocate for healthcare justice—dedication, determination, leadership, and courage. This award was established to celebrate individuals and partners in our community who work to:

  • Expand access to healthcare & wellness services;
  • Eliminate health disparities and promote healthcare justice;
  • Promote cultural & linguistic competence in healthcare; and/or
  • Break down cultural & social barriers to quality healthcare.

Our Beneficiary

Our beneficiary for the 8th Annual Healthcare Justice Awards and 25th Anniversary Celebration is the Healthcare Justice Scholarship Fund. Started in 2021 at the Columbus Foundation, the Healthcare Justice Scholarship benefits racial, ethnic, and cultural underrepresented populations pursuing careers in healthcare. The scholarship fund will increase opportunities; educate, train, and employ more diverse individuals; and allow for more diverse perspectives in the healthcare field.

PrimaryOne Health’s focus is identifying and educating current and future health professionals from diverse backgrounds. Around $50,000 has been raised for the scholarship fund since its inception a year ago. Further questions about the scholarship may be directed to Susan Brewer at susan.brewer@primaryonehealth.org.

Download the PDF of the Sponsorship
and Registration Packet.

8th Annual Healthcare Justice Awards Planning Committee

  • Bill Myers, former Cols. Public Health Commissioner

    Honorary Co-Chair
  • Les Wright, former President Pro Tempore, Cols. City Council

    Honorary Co-Chair
  • Mary Bynum

    Committee Chair
  • Susan Brewer
  • Daisha Burston
  • Icilda Dickerson
  • Donna Garett
  • Chavaughn Gibson
  • Charlene Hairston
  • Grace Hall
  • Tom Horan
  • Judi Lisi
  • Pam Mayle
  • Sue Moore
  • Vanity Sanborn
  • Chris Stein
  • Charleta B. Tavares
  • Tricia Twigg
  • Tammy Walker
  • Ebony Whiteside
  • Jangus Whitner
  • Deborah Wilson
  • Donna Zuiderweg

Thank You to Our Sponsors!